I had a moment today.

I thought how surreal it is today.

I loved you so hard.

I considered marriage.

I considered childbirth.

I creased your trousers.

I made your meals.

I ached for us. 

/

He believed in threes. He would often say that it takes the third love to get it right. The first love is a reckless warmup. The second love is the hardest — almost perfect. Almost doesn’t count though. We were on seconds. I wonder if he sabotaged it out of superstition. He liked to be right. I thought we were unicorns. I thought we could prove to be invincible. He thought I was an alien. It was a bittersweet comparison. He was right about something. I do hope his intuition was right though. I hope he was right about the third. 

Leave a Reply

