tenses

I think there was a time
When I was blind
But how would I know
My eyes were open
My mind was open
I think there was a time
When I couldn’t feel
But how would I know
I had my skin and limbs
To feel the touch, the pain
But I was numb
I think there was a time
When I had no nerves and no reaction
But how would I know
I had attraction
How would I know
I had eyes that watered
Occasionally
I think there was a time
When I was sick
But how would I know
I had no doctor to tell me so
No pills from diagnosis
And then there came the time
When I would see too deeply
And feel too intensely
And think too critically
And cry too often
And medicate myself
And now here is a time
When I know what it means to be human.

3 thoughts on “tenses

Leave a Reply

