happy christmahanukwanzaa

DSCN0360DSCN0362DSCN0357DSCN0358

All pictures above were taken from the back of a motorcycle. And no, I don’t have Obamacare.

DSCN0359I don’t celebrate Christmas. I don’t believe in the proclaimed holiday. Jesus wasn’t born on December 25th and his birth should be celebrated everyday by giving love to one another — not consumer products. I think the guy on stilts thinks Christmas is a joke too. Ha. Anywho, I had a mighty fine “December 25th” (in EST and Thai time). I had the kind of day where I was awoken by positivity. It was a day filled with blessings and surprises. My uncle who I’ve been iffy about reached out to me and was the farthest thing from being cold. His words delivered a strong sense of family, love, and warmth. I talked to my grandma for hours. Although that’s a ritual, its still a blessing. Then, I talked to 2 of my siblings. Strangely, it was the closest I ever felt to them even though they’re thousands of miles away. I went to the city. Normally, I just get stared at by Thais. O_O This mute staring slightly disturbs me because I’ll smile back and they just look at me unchanged. I won’t know what to think. Yesterday, I had a few of them tell me why they were staring. “Very beautiful” That was certainly comforting. On the way back home, an older Thai guy sat next to me on the bus. He was staring at me also. I was eating baby oranges so I grabbed two and gestured to offer him one. He shook his head and said “No, thank you.” Haha. Then we start conversing and I had an environmental discussion with him about global warming. (It snowed in Saudi, Egypt, and Vietnam). Then I get home and have the pleasure of speaking to people who’ve meant a lot to me over the years. People who’ve I distanced myself from whilst going through my various transitions and whatnot. People who I love very much. It was nice to pick up where we left off. It was another pleasant surprise.

I remember this time last year, I was preparing to move to NY. I was sure that was the next aligned step for me. I was determined to make a certain dream manifest in my dream city. I still think about that dream and that dream city. Is it a dream that I should keep simply as a memory or as an attainable goal that will resurface once the time is right? Either way, dreams do comes true. Just not exactly how we plan them…but better than we ever could.

Leave a Reply

