are you ready, kids?

DSCN9830DSCN9825

This is the class that I’ve been teaching for the past 2 weeks. No whiteboard. No desks. No decoratives dangling from the ceiling. No posters on the wall. No artwork of the students on display. Of course, no air-conditioning.

This definitely is not what comes to mind when you imagine a kindergarten classroom, but these amazing children have exceeded my expectations.

They are so attentive! I could not say a word for 30 seconds and they would still be looking at me with their wide, shining eyes without losing focus & running off doing somersaults. They are also so respectful and well-mannered. They even blow us kisses when we leave for the day 🙂

I was a bit nervous to move to Bangkok this weekend and sign a year teaching contract. I was unsure that I would be willing to commit my time for such a long period of time, especially with so many unknowns. After this experience with the students at Korpai, I know there’s not many other things in this world that would bring me this much joy. Waking up everyday to a classroom of beautiful minds and adorable faces is such a blessing. Showing them that they are brilliant and are capable of anything they set their hearts on is a gift to me, and I’m sure it will be even more to them.

I’m ready to show some Bangkok babies how to thrive.

Leave a Reply

